Wheels & Tires Grabbing the road and stopping.

Nitto Motivo vs Continental DWS vs Falken PT-722

Old 08-25-2012, 09:24 PM
Mr.202?

Received 204 Likes on 162 Posts
Nitto Motivo vs Continental DWS vs Falken PT-722

I have driven 30k on the Conti DWS, 4k on Falkens and 1.5k on the Motivos, on my 05 Sedan. Tires were 235/45-18 , DWS was 245/45-18

For Dry grip, the Motivos surprise me from time to time with the amount of grip they have, from the minute I put them on they felt great. The Continental DWS was a great tire as well in this respect but once I went through the angled tread the tire's characteristics changed a bit but still had decent grip. The Motivos and DWS liked 35PSI, The Falkens were interesting, and The First few hundred Miles I had them set at 35PSI, dry grip was horrible ABS was coming on unexpectedly I wasn't too happy with them. But, after 800 miles I started playing with tire pressure and the Falkens Loved lower PSI, I set them to 31PSI and dry grip improved tremendously but not quite up to the level of the Motivos.

A final note about the Falkens, they are very very noisy at their limit before they let go. You can get the tire screaming without VDC to kicking in. While the DWS as soon as it started to make noise VDC kicked in. The Motivos are similar to the DWS as soon as they start making noise VDC kicks in.

So this is how I would rate them.

Dry Grip
  1. Nitto Motivo
  2. Falken PT-722
  3. Continental DWS

Living in South Florida and driving a lot of highway, I look for great wet performance, of course every manufacture lists that they have good wet performance.