Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, or satellite radio

SQ Competition Install in '07 G35c...(56k go to SPL)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-17-2007, 09:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
SQ Competition Install in '07 G35c...(56k go to SPL)

UPDATE: COMPLETED SYSTEM ON PAGE 2

Well, after months of planning and mourning over my totaled 2004 G35c's system, I have started the new install. I will be competing in IASCA SQ (sound quality). This thread will be updated whenever I work on the install. Let me know what you guys think, or if you have any questions.

First off a little background on myself...
I'm an audio engineering major at the University of Miami ("Suntan U", or "Da U"). I have been designing and installing car stereo systems since I was a freshman in high school, now I am a senior in college. I finally managed to snag Tru Technology, http://www.trutechnology.com as my amplifier sponsor which I am thrilled about.

Ok well the first install round is the sound dampening. I used stuff from second skin, http://www.secondskinaudio.com. I used their damplifier on the floor, inner doorskins, trunk and roof, and I used damplifier pro on the outer doorskins. I used overkill pro foam on all the surfaces.

Since the car was such a PITA to tear apart, I also ran the speaker wire, remote wire, interconnects, and power wire while the interior was out of the car.

First off, the workbench in my garage, and all the wires...amazing that this all ended up fitting inside the tiny G cockpit:

Here is the inner doorskin with the damplifier installed:

Here's the outer doorskin with the damplifer pro:

Here's the roof. Its amazing how little room their is for the sunroof:

Driver's side:

Under the Backseat:

The trunk, after I cut off all the tire and jack mounts:

The overkill pro foam installed over the damplifier using there spray adhesive, which is pretty much 3m super 90: