do any of the vendors have better price than rockauto?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-22-2016, 03:45 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
do any of the vendors have better price than rockauto?

I've been comparing the prices of some struts complete sets for my 2005 g35 sedan rwd
every single vendor I asked had higher prices than Rockauto. are the vendors just ordering from rockauto and tacking on a extra 30$ - 100$ ? I was comparing a few different vendors prices of the kyb shocks which rock auto has. a few brands like koni and tokico rock auto didn't have but I found those brands to be cheaper with a simple google search in 30 seconds.

so are the vendors just generally higher prices ? or do they actually have any good deals ever?

Old 03-22-2016, 05:49 PM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Other vendors are not ordering from RockAuto and tacking on extra money.

More than likely, they don't order in nearly as much volume as a big vendor like RockAuto. This means they can't get the parts as cheaply, so they have to charge more to make a profit margin that makes sense for them.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economies_of_scale

Old 03-22-2016, 06:23 PM
i'm aware of how selling stuff works thats why I shop for the best price.
I think the forum gives people the impression they are getting a deal. The vendors often claim it's a great price as well. seems like the forum should have more reputable vendors. I haven't seen any post discussing this issue, maybe I didn't know what to search for. I'm curious why in the vendor threads no one I've seen responds saying hey it's cheaper over here. would those type of posts get deleted or something?

although the vendors probably do have good deals on some items. There is a great selection of parts that is awesome. On struts, it definitely seems like shopping elsewhere is the best bet.

Old 03-23-2016, 09:47 AM
Premier Member

Received 468 Likes on 379 Posts