Drivetrain Questions and info regarding transmissions, clutches, etc.

What clutch should I get?

Old 08-26-2016, 12:57 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What clutch should I get?

What clutch should I get? I was planning on getting Z1 Motorsports clutch and flywheel combo since I live 10 minutes away but after reading online people seen to hate Z1. However people in Atlanta and G's facebook group praises Z1, Anyone have experience with their clutches? I'm also pretty new to manuals. I was told my clutch is heavy and travel distance is extremely little and it also bites all the way at the top. Will changing it make it lighter and change the biting point? Thanks! I drive a 2007 G35 Coupe for anyone who's curious.

Old 08-26-2016, 01:51 AM
Received 23 Likes on 22 Posts
you can adjust the clutch pedal so it doesnt engage so damn early. mine engages about halfway down, like pretty much every other manual ive driven. just takes a screw driver and 10mm open end wrench. took me maybe 5 minutes to do it. some people say its bad for the clutch, it can be if you adjust it too far in, but ive been driving it like that for a year with zero problems

Old 08-26-2016, 08:49 AM
Received 1,132 Likes on 1,002 Posts
Here's a simple fact, unless you track or drag your coupe the best clutch is the one it came with from the factory! After market clutches can cause issues and chatter like hell, stay with the OE clutch if yours needs replacing!
Gary

The following users liked this post:
telcoman (08-26-2016)
Old 08-26-2016, 09:23 AM
Received 27 Likes on 26 Posts
Originally Posted by SweetThuy
... I was told my clutch is heavy and travel distance is extremely little and it also bites all the way at the top. Will changing it make it lighter and change the biting point? Thanks! I drive a 2007 G35 Coupe for anyone who's curious.