G35 Coupe V35 2003 - 07 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Coupe

Cooling fan question

Old 08-29-2016, 07:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cooling fan question

Good evening,

First off I am a shade tree mechanic at best. I do know how to use a volt meter but not so good with schematics. With that said I need some help and I am grateful for your help. My fans were not turning and my car ran hot while AC was running. I checked the fuse by the battery and I replaced the fans because my car has 127,000 miles on it but fans still do not run at any time. My AC compressor is engaging and disengaging at idle but works fine at speed. I don't have a lot of cash to put into the car so just wondering what I could or should check now after replacing the fans. Is there another fuse that controls the fans, relay or module. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Old 08-29-2016, 09:20 PM
Received 39 Likes on 37 Posts
Did you replace the fans with new units? Have you tried connecting 12 volts straight to the motors to check they actually work?

The pair of fans work with 2 speed motors and come on at different speeds depending on whats required.
Usually the left fan comes on alone to cool the rad and the right one comes on with the a/c. There may be a few other scenarios but its something like that.

If not even the left fan comes on when needed you could easily overheat your engine. My first engine popped a hose because the fans didn't work. Afterwards it overheated again and that time the head gasket blew!

Old 08-29-2016, 10:08 PM
Yes new fans from rockauto. Neither fan runs when AC is on and from all I have read they should come on anytime the AC is on. I'm gonna drive it tomorrow a short drive to see if any fan comes on. Thanks.

Old 09-06-2016, 04:55 PM
Super Moderator

Received 196 Likes on 177 Posts
Front and rear cameras, tire pressure for all four tires can display on screen,folding side view mir
Originally Posted by Nipitnthbud
Good evening,