G35 Coupe V35 2003 - 07 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Coupe

New to driving stick and the clutch on the g35 i drive was recently rebuilt and now..

Old 10-01-2016, 04:07 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to driving stick and the clutch on the g35 i drive was recently rebuilt and now..

when i'm done driving around and turn it off i get a weird smell coming from the front of the car. i don't know if it's burnt clutch smell or what. i'm relatively new to driving manual so maybe my technique is what's causing this. should a rebuilt clutch have this smell when you're breaking it in or is it most likely me wearing it out? sorry if this post isn't coherent. if you guys need me to explain something better please let me know. thanks

Old 10-01-2016, 12:28 PM
Received 1,132 Likes on 1,002 Posts
I'll give you the same advice my Dad gave me when I bought my first car when I was 15 with a MT...push the clutch in while changing gears and get your foot off the pedal! Never let you foot rest on the clutch pedal. Since the clutch was recently rebuilt you might have the mechanic check the work they did for pedal engagement/travel. New or old clutches don't have a odor when used correctly...fact!
Gary

The following 2 users liked this post by gary c:
eb1904 (10-02-2016), telcoman (10-02-2016)
Old 10-01-2016, 09:47 PM
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Good advice... I will second that..

Old 10-02-2016, 03:48 AM
thanks gary i appreciate you responding i will be honest and say that maybe i was stepping on it as well(gas) and i know i shouldn't be doing that just yet since i need to practice my technique first.(smooth first then quick)

Old 10-02-2016, 07:21 AM
Super Moderator

Received 196 Likes on 177 Posts
Front and rear cameras, tire pressure for all four tires can display on screen,folding side view mir
Originally Posted by eb1904