Notices

DIY 03-04 Vanity Light Upgrade

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-29-2014, 03:17 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
DIY 03-04 Vanity Light Upgrade

Hey Guys, While im still a Noob about G35's, I love me a good project. While changing all my lighting over to LED everything went perfect until I got to the vanity lights...WTF! While searching on a few forums on how I could go about fixing this Dated setup Nissan decided to go with, I came across a couple half complete DIY which were ok but not the greatest in detail, which is why I decided to create my own DIY to fix the Crappy dated yellow looking lights that make my wife look like she has Jaundice when looking in the mirror...and here it is.

WARNING DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!! NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR INABILITY TO FOLLOW INSTRUCTION OR USE A SOLDERING IRON!!!

Difficulty 1-10: I'd say this rates a 7 as soldering is required

If you found this helpful dont forget to Rep Me!! Thanks!

Tools and Supplies:
-Needle nose pliers
-Wire strippers
-Small flat head screwdriver
-Soldering iron
-.032" 60/40 Rosin Core Solder or something close
-Desoldering Braid
-24-26 Gauge Wire (I used small speaker wire as that's what I had lying around)
-LED's I used 2 bulb Bright White LED's
2 BULB LED LINK 2 BULB LED LINK

The first few steps don't have pictures, if you cant figure out how to do them you shouldn't be doing this DIY!!

-First, disconnect Negative terminal on battery
-Fold down Sun Visor and open cover to expose the mirror and light
-If the light comes on you didn't follow the first step and you fail at life...go back and disconnect the Battery.
-Use the small flathead screwdriver to carefully pop the outer cover off to expose the vanity light bulb and Substrate as nissan calls it.
DIY 03-04 Vanity Light Upgrade-vanity-mirror-lamp.jpg
-Once exposed, CAREFULLY lift up on the tab that is right above the bulb to release the Substrate and Bulb and pull the assembly out.