G35Driver - Infiniti G35 & G37 Forum Discussion

G35Driver - Infiniti G35 & G37 Forum Discussion (https://g35driver.com/forums/)
-   Audio, Video & Electronics (https://g35driver.com/forums/audio-video-electronics-20/)
-   -   Alternator problem? (https://g35driver.com/forums/audio-video-electronics/255538-alternator-problem.html)

Heist. 11-16-2008 11:01 PM

Alternator problem?

So I have been running a 2500 watt amp for a couple months, well it recently failed but everything else was working fine. Then I put in an old amp from another car with a lot less watts 1300 or something very small. Now when I am driving with music at decent volume the car struggles. The shifts are miserable and I can see its sucking power due to my lights dimming with the beat ( ohh ricey :) ) anyways do you think the alternator is going ? or needs to be upgraded? or is it the amp just not working right? Thanks in advance! :thewave:

jalilig35 11-17-2008 01:29 AM

yea its probably your alternator, are you on stock battery? try the yellow top optima battery

Heist. 11-17-2008 01:36 AM

not original battery but it can't be the battery if it happens while the car is running can it?

Devil Dog 11-17-2008 07:42 AM

Sounds like you need some capacitors.

jalilig35 11-17-2008 07:28 PM

true car audio experts say no to capacitors. try doing the big 3, it helped me a little bit

jalilig35 11-17-2008 07:29 PM

Originally Posted by Devil Dog
Sounds like you need some capacitors.

also u got a nice g, like the works, but why kinetix camber kit???

Devil Dog 11-17-2008 08:45 PM

Originally Posted by jalilig35
also u got a nice g, like the works, but why kinetix camber kit???

How you know I got a Kinetix camber kit?

jalilig35 11-18-2008 03:06 PM

Originally Posted by Devil Dog
How you know I got a Kinetix camber kit?

lol it was chillin in your trunk with the gauges and other stuff

blazeplacid 11-18-2008 03:29 PM

could be that the larger amp was more efficent and the new amp is not