Care & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

How-to: chip repair/wetsanding (and some obligatory polishing!)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-19-2006, 10:40 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
^^^+1 - whs

Old 04-20-2006, 04:39 PM
thank you.

how about making a How-to section? good write up w/ flicks.

Old 08-11-2008, 09:23 AM
I am a complete novice but I followed your instructions on how to fix a scratch on the hood of my black G and it worked 95%. I don't know how to proceed and I was hoping for some direction.

I used a matching pen paint with the toothpick. (Very patiently over two days.) I ended up with the blob. I left it for a week. I did everything you said. I bought unigrit 2500, I soaked it overnight, I sanded carefully in one direction with regular soapy water, I got the blob level with the paint (I think.) I wiped it away with alcohol water. I crapped myself!

I then used Pinnacle Fine Swirl remover XMT with the PC just like you said (3 and then 6) with an orange pad. (I spent so much on buying the PC and the products it came with from Autogeek, I didn't want to buy more and it sounded like it was the same as you were recommending.)

It worked very well to remove all the scratching from the sandpaper. In fact up to there it was much easier than I expected.

The problem is that I can still see the marring. It looks like an very slight lump in the paint when you see it in the reflection and it has sort of white flecks in it. I repeated the process at least ten times and it got much better but it is still there.

It looks to me like the problem is that it is indented where the scratch was and not converse or above the rest of the paint. I got nervous and stopped. Maybe the paint dried with bubbles in it and those are now small holes in the scar?

One of my other questions is how many times can I keep going over it with the PC. Is there a point at which you are just screwing up the paint?