G35 Sedan V36 2007- 08 Discussion about the 2nd Generation G35 Sedan 2007 - 08

Stillen Gen 3 Ultra Long VS K&N Typhoon Dual CAI (Winter?)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-19-2019, 11:09 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
G35x Sedan Sport
Stillen Gen 3 Ultra Long VS K&N Typhoon Dual CAI (Winter?)

Hello everyone,

Newbie here to the Club. Great information everywhere. I have spent the last couple days reading the forums but can't find an answer to a dilemma I have. Please direct me to a post if this has been discussed earlier.

I just purchased a 2008 G35x Sport Sedan with 154XXX miles on it from a dealer. The car will be going in the shop for a checkup since it has that many miles and was sold as is. Once the necessary repairs are made, I would like to add an intake to the engine. A G35x I test drove had the K&N dual intake installed and I fell in love with the growling of the engine and the stock sound can't compete with the sound of the intake.

My question is, since I live in the upper Midwest and our winters are long, how would a CAI perform like the Stillen? Will I have problems with the snow and puddles since it will be installed behind the grill, essentially? Should I stick with the K&N intake even though the air it will be sucking-in may be hotter?

Does the Stillen sound better than the K&N intake (https://www.knfilters.com/cold-air-i.../g35/3.5l/2008). The car will be a daily city driver, so mostly on the lower RPM spectrum. Also, do you recommend that I tune the car after installing the intake to ensure it is not running lean or anything? I plan on installing a plenum spacer as well and no more mods will be made. I just want a little sound.

Thank you for your help!!

Last edited by MING35x; 03-19-2019 at 12:14 PM.
Old 03-19-2019, 12:31 PM
Received 334 Likes on 286 Posts
Coupe, Premium package, sport suspension
Can't answer the questions but no plenum spacer on the V36. Nissan fixed the restriction issue in this iteration of the engine.