G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

6 MT - Synchronizers Not Right

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-06-2004, 12:41 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
6 MT - Synchronizers Not Right

I am at 15,000 miles on my 2003.5 6MT, and I have transmission problems that are not new. For the first 5,000 miles +/- the transmission was notchy, but shifted flawlessly. Then came a random crunch when engaging 2nd gear. After about 2,000 more miles the random crunch became more so, involving all gears except 6th. Rarely is there grinding, just a pronounced obstruction as you shift into the gear. In addition, there is the feeling (at times) when shifting from 1st, with the clutch fully depressed, that you are literally pulling it out of gear without the use of the clutch. I have had the car into two dealers, with an adjustment in one case (no help) and virtually being told that I am crazy at the other dealer. I am not a novice, having driven sticks for at least 750,000 miles.
I am mentally ready to sell the car, which is unfortunate as I chose the G35 specifically for the 6MT, and had to travel 800 miles to find one. I can not in good conscience sell the car to a private party, and will take a bath if I trade it in.
The rattles have been tamed substantially, although I still have a creak in the driver's window (fixed twice). My primary concern is the transmission.
Does anyone have any advice as to how to deal with this issue? It would be greatly appreciated. Do I take it in for the 15,000 service, or trade it in?
As an aside, this is my first Nissan vehicle. I expected exemplary fit and finish, and service. I have found neither.

Old 11-06-2004, 11:42 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Re: 6 MT - Synchronizers Not Right

my tranny has been fixed to perfection. the rattles I can't help you with, I don't have any. i have a little suspension creak at 50 degrees F, but it is an aftermarket suspension, so it is my fault.