Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, or satellite radio
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

About speakers...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-06-2008, 03:44 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
About speakers...

I know there's a car audio section, but I wanted to post my question here first for the G35 sedan guys to answer, based on their prior experience...

I'm new to these G35 forums. I recently purchased an '04 G35x black on black. The car came with a stock stereo (non-Bose). I'll elaborate for those who have Bose and may not be familiar with the base model stereo; it has a built-in 6-disc changer/ cassette and 4 speakers (2 in the front doors and 2 in the back doors, as well as tweeters up on the front door). I don't mind the head unit, considering it's got a built-in 6-disc changer... but the speakers aren't so great. I wouldn't mind upgrading to Pioneers or JL Audios.

I have a few questions about this stock stereo of mine:

A) What brand is the stock head unit? And what brand are stock the speakers?

B) What are the specs. (watts/ rms of the head unit and speakers)?

C) What is the mounting depth of the speaker locations in the front and rear doors?

I do know I can fit 6.5" to 6.75" speakers in those locations, but I'm unsure about how much of a mounting depth I have...

I'm looking into the Pioneer Premier TS-D702P, Pioneer TS-A1782R, and or JL Audio VR650-CXi at the moment; which all have a mounting depth of 2.5".

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Naveed2126; 03-06-2008 at 03:47 PM.
Old 03-06-2008, 03:49 PM
Received 22 Likes on 14 Posts
A) What brand is the head unit? And what brand are the speaker?

The head unit is Bose as well as the speakers. Bose is made by Clarion

B) What are the specs. (watts/ rms of the head unit and speakers)?