Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, or satellite radio

NO SOUND!? wtf

Old 11-20-2008, 11:28 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
NO SOUND!? wtf

ok i have a 2004 g35 coupe w/navigation, and for some reason now i get no sound out of my radio.

basically it has happened once or twice before recently, i would turn on my radio after i start my car and it would appear to be playing, i could use all the controls on my radio, however i would just get no audio. i would then turn the car off and turn it back on again, and it would work fine.

yesterday afternoon, the same thing happened, however turning the car off and on again didnt solve the problem, so throughout yesterday afternoon and through today i have a perfectly workign radio and navigation, just with absolutely no sound.

now the installation part of this equation is not a problem, as i am a mobile electronics installer by profession(still in college, not permanent) and am honestly pretty damn good at it, can do most anything electrically with a car, and have done quite a few g35's already.

the question is not how i should do anything, what i should do etc... it is just whether this is a common problem with the bose systems, and whether anyone else on this forum has had a similar problem? if so did you find it to be the bose amp that had gone bad, or was it the actual signal processor in the head unit that went bad. hopefully if this is common it could save me a lot of dissassembly and troubleshooting time, so i appreciate any input i can get.
thanks in advance.

Old 11-20-2008, 11:30 PM
Oh by the way, the reason i am asking is because i prefer not to replace anything with aftermarket goodies, so whatever has gone bad i will just be replacing with factory parts, as this is just my daily driver and i dont really want to modify it in any way(hopefully getting a c6z soon, i'll save the modding bug for that).

tnx again.

Old 11-21-2008, 08:13 AM