Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, or satellite radio

Have you done a double din swap and setup an android auto screen and do you like it?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-21-2022, 05:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Have you done a double din swap and setup an android auto screen and do you like it?

I want to replace the current music system with one of the apple carplay / android auto ones with a scree and all. but when i look at where people have installed them it seems like a location thats too low in the console and would be hard to actually look at for navigation. does anyone agree and are there other solutions that I dont know of? I was wondering if the empty compartment at the top of the dash that typically houses screens for g37's would be better to house a screen and the lower portion could become a storage? any ideas, suggestions, advice welcome. Also im new to modifications so please feel free to tell me anything a noob needs to know

Old 07-23-2022, 06:03 PM
Gentle Manne of Leisure

Received 1,037 Likes on 610 Posts
This one's easy. Pioneer DMH-WC5700NEX (sponsored link). It has a separate 1-din control unit and a long-enough cable to reach the factory navigation screen location. You will have to modify the screen housing parts to get it to fit, but it's sooo worth it. If you have a bandsaw, it only takes a few seconds. You can do the same with a hacksaw in a minute or two.

I'm about 90% sure that the lift mechanism would still work, but it's a tight enough fit I didn't want it to jam and burn out the motor if it wasn't enough, so I just unplugged the lift mechanism and leave it in the up position. If you get the JDM climate controls and mount them behind the factory bezel, it would look completely stock.