Brake rotor/pads wearing out, needs to be replaced. any suggestions?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-09-2006, 05:04 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brake rotor/pads wearing out, needs to be replaced. any suggestions?

I have a 05 X AWD sedan with 30,000 miles exactly.

Dealer told me if i change to oem brake rotors and pads, it will only last another 30k miles.

So im thinking of upgrading to aftermarket high performance brake rotors and pads. I know that pads should be replaced every 30,000 miles but ROTORs should last longer than that especially high performance.

Im a newbie here, so please help me answer the following questions regarding rotors and pads

1) Looking to spend 1000$ or under on rotors and pads (the whole set). How is stop teCh?, brembo?... these are the only 2 i know so far, how many miles will the rotors last? I have heard BRemBO do not need to be replaced untill 80,000 miles under normal driving conditions, is this true?

How is stop tech?

2) any other brands of rotors I should be looking at?

3) how about pads? what are some options?

4) I want to get either cross drilled or drilled (with holes) rotors, are they within my price range? what are the difference in performance between cross drilled/slotted and drilled?

5) If i machine my current rotors, how long will it last? another 5k miles? But i guess my pads need to go badly

6) how much is installation cost for new rotors and pads at local shops? approx...ly?

thank you for answering

Old 11-09-2006, 05:37 PM
Haha, some of these questions are in a thread that I just started too...