Carputer, Stock Head Unit, and Dream Sheet

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-28-2005, 12:32 AM
Received 42 Likes on 15 Posts
Carputer, Stock Head Unit, and Dream Sheet

I would like to install a carputer, with the 2005 DW screen, but retain my stock head unit. I'm a pretty good amateur installer, having installed about 10 systems over the years. No fiberglass work, but anything short of that I can do.

However, I would like to retain my stock head unit (along with the Phatbox MP3 player) for a number of reasons, but also install a carputer. I wouldn't use the carputer for MP3's, but I would use it for DVD's, and Nv, and other things.

Here is my dream list of what a carputer would have. If someone who is more expert in this than me (carputers are uncharted for me) could comment on the feasibility. Money is not really a problem, within reason (no $20K systems...)

1. GPS navigation with speech prompts
2. Remote DVD player in glove cubby...possibly long USB cable to it?
3. graphics card (not integrated graphics) nothing too top of the line, because of heat, but enough to play some games beyond minesweeper
4. Wireless mouse or thumbpad
5. Touch screen (comes with DW setup)
6. Maps and Nav data stored on hard drive
7. Output voice and sound to current amp and played through speakers. Maybe add self powered center speaker for for DVD surround?
8. OBDII interface. Not for real time monitoring, but ability to reset codes, and data log, and check error codes

I'm probably asking for a bit too much, but thats what I would like. Anyone with knoweldge of this feel free to give any info you have, or point me to any threads already discussing this.

Thanks
Dave

Old 09-28-2005, 03:14 AM
Oh, and the other thing I would like is a motherboard that fits in a SFF PC, and is able to use a Pentium M, which is low heat, and low power consumption.

Dave

Old 09-28-2005, 08:25 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts