Care & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

Bird droppings and etching?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-08-2007, 10:14 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bird droppings and etching?

Hey guys and gals-

New here, but not new to detailing. I got a 07 black G and I have done the whole clay, polish, AIO, Glaze and PS-21 and also one Grand Blitz wax a couple of coats. When a bird craps on my car I get it off as soon as possible. Is this paint that soft that having the car protected it will still eat right though the wax and polish in less that a day? I am new to Infiniti, but have owned Maxima's and never had this kind of issue. I will check when my car was made, but I would think the paint would have cured by now. Any help on product that have been used to stop the etching?? My Porter Cable 7424 with yellow pad and #83 dual action polish cleaner will not take it out.

Thanks in advance!

Old 06-09-2007, 01:53 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
depends on wat the bird ate, really.

but i would not leave bird crap on the car more than 1 day. i remove it
just as soon as i can.

Old 06-09-2007, 02:29 PM
Originally Posted by kenchan
depends on wat the bird ate, really.

but i would not leave bird crap on the car more than 1 day. i remove it
just as soon as i can.
Exactly. I was at the beach last weekend & got a bunch of saegull droppings on my car. I got it all off the next morning. There was one spot that etched my paint & it looked like the bird had eaten something that did not agree with him. I say get it off as soon as you see it. Especially if it looks extra nasty.

Old 06-09-2007, 02:40 PM
I happen to have an 03 Black Vette also. I have had a few deposits etch my paint too. I have had fairly good luck removing or whatever you want to call it.. the marks by using Adam's Polishes products "Revive" and "Swirl and Haze Remover" as directed with a Porter Cable Orbital Polisher and a white or yellow pad. http://www.adamspolishes.com/