Care & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

Please critique my detailing "wish list"

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-30-2009, 10:04 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Please critique my detailing "wish list"

Hey guys, I need some guidance from all you car detailing pros out there, I'm a total noob when it comes to this. I'm planning on purchasing the following and just wanted to know what you guys thought, if there is something else I need or substitute for a better product. This will be my first time to detail any car at this level of intensity lol.

I have a 2005 Brilliant Silver G with light to moderate swirl marks. Car also gets parked outside 24/7/365.

I already have all the car washing/drying tools and meguaires clay bar kit

Here's what I plan on getting
  • Porter Cable 7424
  • 5" backing plate
  • 2x 5.5" CCS orange pad
  • 2x 5.5" CCS white pad
  • 2x 5.5" CCS gray pad
  • Poorboys SSR1
  • Poorboys SSR2
  • Poorboys EX-P sealant
  • P21S concourse carnuba wax

Thanks in advanced!

Old 05-30-2009, 11:00 PM
I personally find the smaller backing plate and smaller pads 4 inch pads are more versatile. It'll help you in tight corners and has more cut than the 5.5 pads. I love flat pads more as it seems that polish material gets stuck in the CCS pads and is at times a pain in the butt to remove when cleaning.

Infiniti clears are hard so having a stronger cutting combo of Porter Cable and 4 inch pads may work best for you. I personally haven't tried Poorboys but I love 3M and Menzerna.

Old 05-31-2009, 02:10 AM
Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts
Originally Posted by conesweeper
Hey guys, I need some guidance from all you car detailing pros out there, I'm a total noob when it comes to this. I'm planning on purchasing the following and just wanted to know what you guys thought, if there is something else I need or substitute for a better product. This will be my first time to detail any car at this level of intensity lol.