The G-Spot General discussion about the G Series;
G35 & G37, Coupes & Sedans

Wondering about 05-06 G35C driving experience

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-30-2014 | 02:39 AM
|
Wondering about 05-06 G35C driving experience

Hey guys, I am a newb to the G for the most part.. I have the old 2000 G20, but idk if its the same family of performance. Anyway I have a question that goes out to the 05-06 owners or anybody that has owned one and driven multiple model years in the G35/37. I have been searching around all over and I have test driven two G35's and a G37. I also have test driven a couple Z's. I noticed alot of differences. To start with the G's I noticed that both the 05 and 06 had alot of vibration in the clutch and very low 1/2/3 gears. They seemed kinda rough while driving compared to the newer models which is expected to a degree.. Is there anything substantial that could be causing the rough transmission feel and the vibration/thumping in the clutch pedal while it is released and I am resting my foot on it? I also noticed that the higher my rpm's went in the older model G's the rougher the shift. I had issues with almost kissing the wheel between shifts. I noticed that those problems were fixed with the 08 G37 I drove. However it still had a bit of whiplash at about 7k between 3/4. The Z's were two completely different stories between the two I drove. The 03 was just like the G35's I test drove, while the 08 was perfect. The clutch was stock and ultra smoot and didn't jerk at all. The only real difference between it and the others was the exhaust. It had the mufflers removed and straight piped from the cats to the tips. So I am stuck wondering if it is just the clutch that was in the 08 Z or if was the exhaust causing too much back pressure? I don't know, my big question and what I really want feedback from is how everybody else's G's have treated them with regards to driving experience. Cause after that base model 08 I am almost thinking about just