G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

Car poorly grounded?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-19-2010, 09:16 AM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Car poorly grounded?

First off, I am a complete novice when it comes to electricity, so I approach auto electrical problems with caution. But I am coming to the conclusion, after reading many, many threads on here, that my car may be poorly grounded for whatever reason. A few things I've noticed:

1) I have the shudder on the 2-3 shift that many have complained about on here, even back when their cars were new. Overall, shifts are kind of lazy. I have done two drain/fills with Matic-S which made almost no difference.

2) When I put the trans in D, there is about a full second delay before it engages.

3) One of my horns is fried (doesn't work at all) and it blows the fuse every time I press the horn more than a second. I unplugged it and the other one works fine, but sounds a little wimpy.

4) Turned the rear defroster on yesterday while sitting at a stoplight and it made the engine idle drop. Tried it several times to be sure and it did it every time. I've never had a car that does that. I don't think it should be drawing that much current.

So, I welcome any and all opinions. Am I way off base here? I did order a set of Black Betty's grounding wires this week and should get them installed this weekend. Am I overly optimistic to think that they will cure all the ills?

Old 02-19-2010, 09:55 AM
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
I dont have any issues that you listed

Did you buy the car used?

You may try to run a 4ga ground from your battery to the chassis and see if that helps.

Also, check your current ground from the battery to make sure it inst loose or covered in dirt.

Old 02-19-2010, 10:34 AM
Received 468 Likes on 391 Posts
+1

None of those issues here. Could be a weak battery or a poor battery neg connection (bat neg to chassis)