G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

Noise After putting back Stock Rim/Tires

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-21-2010, 03:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Noise After putting back Stock Rim/Tires

I've been running on aftermarket rims/tires for a few years and decided to go back to stock. But after I put the stock rim and new tires, i'm hearing a "whoomp..whoomp..whoomp" sound the gets loud at around 25mph and at higher speeds (+60mph) I can feel some vibration on the steering wheel. Also, when you turn the steering wheel like changing lanes, the sound get's more pronounced. Could this be due to mis-alignment? Anyone experienced this before? Thanks for your inputs.
I have Tein CS w/ EDFC and before was running on 245/40/19(front) & 275/35/19(rear). Now I have 235/50/17(front & back) on stock rims.

Old 07-21-2010, 03:23 PM
I would assume it's due to alignment and possibly balancing issues on the wheels. Also make sure you took off the spacers from the aftermarket wheels.

Old 07-21-2010, 03:59 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by TheDude
I would assume it's due to alignment and possibly balancing issues on the wheels. Also make sure you took off the spacers from the aftermarket wheels.
I couldnt have said it any better ^^ Thats what it sounds like to me.

Old 07-21-2010, 04:25 PM
Received 30 Likes on 26 Posts
check your tires. If they are cupped or worn, it could be another reason...maybe? Im no expert. But I realized the difference in the tires from swapping between my oem 19s and winters 17s (oem). They 19s would make a simular sound because the insides were cupped.

Old 07-21-2010, 04:33 PM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by g-adabout