G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

Question for A/T G's...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-02-2005, 07:33 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Question for A/T G's...

Hello all...it's me again...another question

Like most of you know by now...I've been a manual driver for 13+ years or however number of years and my G35x is my 1st A/T car. I've been driving the car mainly in the self-shift mode. When you guys shift the gear do you keep the foot on the gas pedal or let go? I mean for my manual accord, when I shift gear I let go of gas, then afterward step on the gas. Just want to make sure I am doing the right thing. Also, it's perfectly ok if I drive in self shift mode all the time right? Self shift still can't compare to stick shift...not even close. I can feel every downshift the car makes when it downshifts from like 4 to 1 when the car rolls to the light. Maybe I am just picky.

Thanks

Old 01-02-2005, 08:30 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Mikeee,

I'm going to pull a "me too" and ask the same question... For me it's just habit to let off the gas pedal to shift. Should we? Do we have too? I don't know. Anyone?

PS - What about "down-shifting" with the AT in Manual Mode? I've been doing it, again as habit, but should it?

Old 01-02-2005, 08:40 PM
Premier Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Chaps, couple of things. You donn't have too ease up on the accelerator when you up shift, just floor it and watch the revs (there's a slight lag and if you don't shift just right, it'll bouce off the rev-limiter).
As for downshifting, you can do that, but you shouldn't downshift too slow down..a.k.a. engine breaking. This will cause premature wear on your transmission and brakes are a lot cheaper too replace than that.

I too grew up driving manuals & the auto-trans/manual shift in the G35 is not a true sequential gearbox, it's basically a high gear selector, but can still be a lot of fun.

Old 01-02-2005, 08:45 PM