G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

DIY Advice Needed

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-04-2012, 07:50 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
DIY Advice Needed

So I took my 2003 G35 into the Nissan service center to get an airbag light check out. The service agent called back and told me he figured the problem out, but my car was due for a 30,000 mile maintenance. I am trying to figure how much of this i can do myself to save money, and that's where i need your help. here is a copy of an email that has all the information about what needs done, as well as what the mechanic said. any advice you have would be appreciated!

Well, the mechanic called me today. He is a really nice guy and gave me no immediate reason to distrust him. I also mentioned i am an engineering student, so he knows he can't really pull a fast one on me. I'm going to look up everything on the list to see what DIY options there are.

Here is the rundown: he says the car needs regular, 30,000 mile maintenance as well as a tune-up. The airbag light and the interior (cabin) lights are both related to the BCM (body control module). Apparently it is slowing frying itself and needs to be replaced before it effects the ECM and fries it as well. The knocking noise is indeed from the blower fan. The serpentine belt needs to be adjusted, i guess it loosened up since it was replaced. here is a list of everything he mentioned with a little note and the price. I bolded the things that are urgent and need to be done by the dealer. everything else can either be done by another shop or done myself.

Tune-up
$420 Spark Plugs
$150 Fuel induction
(clean everything out before putting in new plugs. not necessary, but prolongs the life of new plugs)
$96 Fuel filter
(this is shot, but i can change it myself he said)

30,000 mile maintainance
(top to bottom is order of importance)
$219 Transmission fluid flush