G35 Sedan V36 2007- 08 Discussion about the 2nd Generation G35 Sedan 2007 - 08

Installed the garmin GVN 53--pics!!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-31-2011 | 09:07 AM
|
Installed the garmin GVN 53--pics!!

First off--let me give a big thanks to forum member Mikaly for all his help in the install and a smooth transaction in purchasing the GPS from him. I am a poor installer of most mods on cars due to a lack of patience and knowledge, but his tips helped it all go much more smoothly.
I was interested in the GVN since my other G (the wife's G35) has nav and a backup camera stock and I had tech envy! I already had the backup camera installed so this was the missing piece of the puzzle.....

Here are the items after taking them out of the box..(sorry for the low quality cell phone pics....)

At this point of the install, I was pretty much in full panic mode I ended up changing the connection to the center console cigarette lighter by the way....:

This is the switch for the nav/backup camera. I toggle it fwd (in aux mode) for the GPS, back for the backup camera. Works great!

Here is the mount under the glovebox area (velcro):

Here is a pic of the final install:

A brief review of the unit:
I like the fact that it is totally hidden from view and required no real permanent modification to the car. Everything can be easily undone prior to selling the vehicle. The remote works good, but I do miss having a touchscreen. I don't find it to be an issue driving around in aux most of the time since I connect my phone to the audio inputs and listen to pandora or mp3's via the phone. I also like having an SD card for easy map updates.

Here are the install procedures I used. If you use them for your car, it is at your own risk!:
All you are really doing is choosing a discrete location for the GVN-53, and essentially finding sources for power (constant, ignition, and ground).

1. Choose where you will mount the GVN-53 unit: trunk or under glovebox.