Notices

Black Headlights on eBay - BAD experience

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-12-2006, 10:03 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Black Headlights on eBay - BAD experience

Far as long as I have owned my 2003 G, I have greatly disliked the chrome inside the headlights. Not only does it look garish, but it throws lights everywhere I don't want it and is a big problem in fog and snow.

So when those black headlights started to appear on eBay, I finally had hope for a solution. I did have a concern, however, that they wouldn't be a direct fitment. So I studied the various listing carefully (perhaps all the same seller under a different name for all I know) and even wrote to them for assurances. Finally, I came across one that claimed to be a direct fitment which they confirmed in an email, so I bought a pair which, per the listing, would fit my G.

I scheduled an appointment with an installer, took time off work and went by with the G. After disassembling the front of the car as described elsewhere in these forums and removing a headlight, it immediately became apparent that I had been had. The black headlights I bought could not be installed. Now I was faced with the labor bill for the disassembly and reassembly of the front end and I lost more than a whole day of time before all the dust settled.

The problem was that the lights I bought could not accommodate the HID bulbs or ballasts that came OEM with the car. There was just no way to mount the necessary stuff and additional time was lost trying to make that happen.

Of course the seller didn't want to allow a return and started throwing up a smoke screen. They ever wrote to me and said they never claimed that the headlights were like OEM (?!?).