New Members Check In If you're new to G35Driver, please take a moment to sign-in, introduce yourself and show us your G35!!

New to the Forum. Need Help With My G35!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-30-2020, 02:14 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
G35 Coupe Sport W/ Bolt-ons
Unhappy New to the Forum. Need Help With My G35!

Hello fellow vq enthusiasts,
Im hoping someone can help me out here as i'm somewhat of an amateur self taught mechanic and struggling to figure out this issue. I have a 2003 G35 coupe 6spd manual and Im having a weird whining noise and whirring noise during revving on startup in neutral. Sound is unnoticeable and maybe unexistent when driving the car. Shifts smooth through all gears and doesnt sound like its coming directly from the motor. Sound is especially prominent when I rev it up and then let the rpms drop. sounds like a buzzing or whirring sound. I also have a high pitch squeak sound which i initially thought was a belt problem but now im thinking otherwise. I have narrowed it down to two guesses of my own. One, there is a bad pulley (likely the idler/tension pulley) whirring and causing belt slip and problems with idle. Two, my throwout bearing or entire clutch is bad and needs replacing. FYI: I bought the car with a stage 2 clutch apparently with low miles but it has always been incredibly stiff even for an aftermarket clutch. I have tried to attach a video but it wont let me

. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Old 04-30-2020, 12:17 PM
BANNED!!!

Received 2,463 Likes on 2,155 Posts
Coupe 6MT Premium RAS
Cheapo stage 2 clutches are nothing more than a stiffer pressure plate, this would explain the stuff clutch pedal.

As for the whirring sound, remove both drive belts, spin all the pulleys by hand to see what condition they're in. Go down to a parts house and spin a brand new idler so you have a point of reference.