Stillen Sways vs Stock Sways - Info and review

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-07-2008, 10:23 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Stillen Sways vs Stock Sways - Info and review

Put the Stillen sways on my car tonight. Car is a non-sport bone stock '08 G35.

First off, I was a little disappointed in the box contents. Other than the packing slip on the outside, there was nothing inside other than 2 bars and a catalog. I'm pretty experienced, no problems installing sway bars but if the rear is adjustable, maybe a little tidbit on positioning the links to ensure proper adjustment and to know what adjustment does what. It also would've been nice to have a small instruction sheet simply for tips as I've never worked on this particular car before. For instance, the rear sway bar is very easy to unbolt but it took me a sec to figure out how to get it out; chinese puzzle comes to mind, wasn't hard but took a sec to twist, move and find the right slot to get it out. An instruction sheet could give you the quick tip and avoid a couple minute delay fighting with it. Another inclusion to the contents/instructions is the ever popular tool list, not a big deal but nice to have to keep from getting up and down several times finding the right sizes.

Now, to the install:

Once i got the ginormous plastic cover off the the bottom, the stock bars were a cinch to get out... especially on a car with less than 1,000 miles. None of the bolts were rusted or locked, everything came apart easily. There was a definite difference in weight. I weighed the stock bars and Stillen bars and listed the weights below.

Stock ... Stillen
F- 6.5 ... 11.2
R- 4.8 ... 8.2