Wheels & Tires Grabbing the road and stopping.

Shock/Springs vs. Coilovers SOMEONE PLEASE EXPLAIN! Thanks!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-05-2005, 04:45 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Shock/Springs vs. Coilovers SOMEONE PLEASE EXPLAIN! Thanks!

Newbie here.

Please pardon the crosspost... I posted this question as a reply in the G35 Coupe "Full Coilover or Springs????" thread but it doesn't seem to be grabbing the attention of anyone.

I've tried searching on this site for information on the differences between replacing springs/shocks or getting coilovers etc. I know what springs are and what shocks are, but I don't know what coilovers are and/or why some people are passionate about coilovers, and some believe that springs/shocks are "good enough" if you just want to lower. I do know from various posts that coilovers are adjustible (but not everything they adjust) and that they are many times more expensive.

* Could someone please explain the differences between replacing OEM suspension with new springs/shocks or coilovers and what the differences are?

* Any listing of advantages/disadvantages of either SS vs. CO would be greatly appreciated.

* I read posts about guys adjusting pounds/kg on these suspensions have have no idea what it means.

* Any additional info regarding the need for wheel alignment, camber adjustments or anything else that you feel is necessary when pursuing suspension changes would be appreciated as well.

I know I could Google for some basic info, but I feel you guys are the best resource for how these issues are specific to the G.

MANY THANKS!!

Old 04-05-2005, 04:54 PM
1. replacing with shocks/springs or coilovers is the same work. just have to choose which combination you want. the benefits there are obviously that you can lower the height of your car and improve your cars handling.