Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, or satellite radio

Double din - newbie is all confused...please help

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-22-2009, 09:44 AM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Double din - newbie is all confused...please help

Hi all,

Just wanted to start out that I did some searches, read some thread as well as the sticky but I am a total newbie when it comes to radio and the only aftermarket radio I ever installed was an aftermarket DIN for my sentra (done at a shop). With that being said, my radio is having all sorts of issue. It started yesterday with grinding motor noise and the cd was stuck. I clipped out 3 of the 6 cds and then disconnect the battery but now it saids "check disk" and anytime I press the cd button the radio shuts off. The radio still works though. Then I found out alot of people actually have this radio issue. Now here are my questions.

1) Can this be fixed? I don't want to spend 2 hours ripping off the console and chances are I won't know what I am doing or what cables to look for.

2) Can anyone explain this double din? and why does everyone have to purchase another double din to install a radio? I read that someone said you don't need to purchase aftermarket double din but the radio won't flash afterward. Anyone has pictures of aftermarket radio with stock oem double din bracket?

I don't want to spend too much on the radio and probably don't want to go OEM if it cost $600 or more just to have this problem again down the road.

Thanks...

Old 06-22-2009, 10:44 AM
Tell me I am not going crazy...do I really need ALL these?

05 and 06 Double Din A-C Control
A/C CONTROLLER FOR DOUBLE DIN KIT.
PRICE: $199.95

05 and 06 Double Din Bracket
PRICE: $49.95

05 and 06 Double Din Finisher
05-07 DOUBLE DIN FINISHER
PRICE: $133.59

Then on top of all that a DVD or NAV unit + installation.

WOW...are we talking about like $1000 +