Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, or satellite radio

Amp and Speakers Help

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-07-2012, 03:48 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Amp and Speakers Help

Hi Guys,

I've been reading through the audio threads to try to learn something before I ask my questions but I'm still a noob...

I have a 2003 G35 Coupe. I changed the stereo to a double din kenwood 308u. Nothing fancy. It was just cheap and looked pretty cool. Changed dash and ac to jdm kit. Right now I'm on stock bose speaker system/ amp. I've been experiencing a crazy battery drain every other day I leave my car parked in the garage so I have to jump start the dead battery every time I want to drive. I took my car to my friends place to check it out and we decided to unplug the bose amp to see if it would tell us anything. After 3 days of not driving my car, I can unlock my car with the key remote and start it perfectly. I'm thinking it's the amp that is causing the drain on my battery.

Now I am looking to buy a new aftermarket amp and speakers to go with it.
I see that many people go with Infinity Kappa or reference speakers but I don't know about amps. Anyone have suggestions for what amp and which speakers to get to replace the stock bose amp and speakers? I don't know anything about the Subwoofer either...
I think a $1000 dollar budget should be good enough.. or at least I hope it is.

Do I have to change any wiring if I get a new aftermarket amp and speakers?

Thanks for any help guys! I appreciate it.

-Danny

Old 04-07-2012, 04:29 AM
Gentle Manne of Leisure

Received 1,037 Likes on 610 Posts
Not knowing how you're currently wired, you might want to pull the radio out to run RCAs from the headunit to the amplifier.