Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, or satellite radio

Aftermarket GPS options??

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-09-2005, 10:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Aftermarket GPS options??

Hey guys. I'm an outside salesman and I'm strongly considering a GPS system, although I couldn't justify the $2000 factory GPS. What are my options as far as aftermarket GPS are concerned?

This is the one area where I regret not going with the Acura TL. IMO, their GPS blows away the Nissan/Infiniti system.

Old 03-10-2005, 11:32 AM
Received 32 Likes on 26 Posts
I love the streetpilot 2610 (from Garmin, $650 on the net) - use it in my Odyssey, not G35. I have a car pc and use Copilot v8 (from Alk, $300) in my G35. Doesn't hold a candle to the streetpilot (yet - I'm told they are improving it).

Old 03-10-2005, 11:45 AM
I have the Navman iCN 510. I have been very happy with it. Check out there site

Navman icn510

I got it for $350 from fry's. I did have to buy a 256MB SD memory card for it.

Last edited by jedmonds; 03-10-2005 at 11:48 AM.
Old 03-10-2005, 10:04 PM
Have you guys heard of the TomTomGo? I think it manufactured in Holland, which explains the silly name, but it gets great reviews. Kind of looks like a mini 4-3 TV set.

Old 03-11-2005, 11:15 AM
I have heard of it, but haven't read any reviews, or know anyone that owns one.

Old 03-11-2005, 01:10 PM
www.gpspassion.com
-> forums

All in ones forum will have the info you seek.

I use IGuidance 2.

Most all the programs (and all in ones) still have some strength or weakness. Some choose convenience and appliance simplicity over some more complicated robust options. There's no right answer. Some work better as moving maps, others better for navigation (like mapopolis vs Iguidance). Its kinda personal choice. Sometimes its just plain value that helps you decide, like an i510 for ~$350. Hard to argue with those prices.