Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II Grand-Am Cup, JGTC , Procar SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures

Taking advantage of AWD in Autox

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-28-2012, 09:26 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Taking advantage of AWD in Autox

I've been autocrossing on and off for 3 years now in D-Stock with my '07 G35x. I got to thinking and realized I've never really taken into consideration that fact that I've got the advantage of all wheel drive into my driving.

What kinds of things can I do as far as driving line, car setup, etc... to potentially improve my lap times with AWD in mind? My limited understanding is that the big advantage of AWD is being able to accelerate sooner and harder out of corners due to the extra traction, but I don't feel that at all. I mostly just understeer if I try to push out too early through turns.

Thoughts? Thanks in advance!

Old 07-28-2012, 06:07 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
In my experience, AWD is most beneficial for Pro-Solo's (off the lights), as well as when you're autocrossing in the wet. In such cases, it gives you a big advantage and is worth quite a bit of time.

In the dry, the benefits are less pronounced, especially you are also carrying more weight than a RWD G35. Personally, I wouldn't change my lines too much if driving an AWD car. I would also err on the side of slow in, fast out with the car though (late apexing).

What kind of tires are you running? And have you added a swaybar? You can also make your car understeer less via air pressure, shocks (if adjustable), and the swaybar.

Old 07-28-2012, 08:40 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I definitely see a huge difference in the wet because I can induce oversteer a little bit and feel like I can push harder and clean up my lines. My raw time for the day ranks WAY higher when it's wet than in the dry. I typically late apex, mostly because I have trouble doing early apexing correctly, but that's just a lack of experience.