G35 Track Day in Rome, Italy [Video's] - G35Driver - Infiniti G35 & G37 Forum Discussion
Show Your Support Become A Premier Member

Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II Grand-Am Cup, JGTC , Procar SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures

G35 Track Day in Rome, Italy [Video's]

Old 07-28-2013, 03:27 PM

G35 Track Day in Rome, Italy [Video's]

This is my first time at this track. I had no time to prepare to car for the track. I got there late and made it by 5 minutes. I literally got there and went straight to the track. No time to prep due to Italy traffic. Shocks and sway bars were still set at soft, and tire pressures were still set for street use. If you listen closely, you can hear all of my soda cans bouncing around in which 2 of them exploded. I ended up with a big clean-up with dried up soda all over the interior, loose change everywhere and parts for my GoPro everywhere. Luckily, the styrofoam cooler which was packed with ice and soda survived.

One thing to note about racing in Italy. No rules, no Tech, no classes and pass wherever and whenever you want. If you want to race your SmartCar against your buddies Veyron, no problem! I was on the track with some heavy hitters. Fully prepped Porsche's and Ferrari's and other high powered, fully prepped cars.

As you can see in the video, I took it VERY easy. I even left the A/C and VDC on. One thing I can tell you is that the front end is too soft. Partially due to the soft sway bar settings and struts set at full soft. Brakes. The stock brakes are a major weak point. With conservative laps around the track, I could feel some fade starting mid-way through my session. Other than that, the G did surprisingly well and was very predictable around the turns.