'04 G35X rear brake question/help...I'm a newbie

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-12-2012, 06:38 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'04 G35X rear brake question/help...I'm a newbie

Fairly new G35X owner. Bought a used 2004 G35X with about 109k on it. Drove like a champ until two days ago and noticed a grinding/scraping noise coming from driver side rear. Also grinding when braking so I assumed needed new pads. Upon inspection of all rotors, all were fine except driver side rear. So, go to AutoZone and got new rear pads, and rotor. Attempted to change rotor but couldn't get the damn caliper screws off so just ended up using a wire brush to smooth out the rotor as best I could and changing the brake pads. Tried to remove the bottom screw on the caliper and it was stripped but managed to get the top screw removed and taken out so the caliper/piston could be removed from the rotor and I could get the pads out. I noticed that the wear on the inside pad was really bad, the pad almost completely gone while the outside pad seemed to actually still have a little substance left. The rear passenger pads were worn, but definitely more equally. Anyways, since I had to drive the thing after failing to remove the rotor, I just put the rear set of pads on and went on my way. The scraping/grinding noise that was the result of the worn pad/rotor was gone, so I figured I had remedied the problem. Now however when I drive it it feels like the car is sluggish, like the parking brake is engaged. It doesn't pull to the right or left really and there is no smoking or brake smell. It was not this sluggish prior to the pad change.

My questions are these to try to be a little more clear in my ramblings:

1) Is this normal after putting on pads until they become more broken in to have this sluggish feeling?