Canada Serving Canada.

Is it me, or the winter tires...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-10-2008, 07:03 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Is it me, or the winter tires...

This is my first year with my coupe, I have a set of Hankook Icebear w300 17" tires that are a few years old. Despite the heavy dumpings of snow in Ontario, I haven't had the best traction with these tires. I'm talking about having trouble in the snow with 10cm or less, or somewhat heavy slush on the side streets, or hard packed snow with snow on top that's been driven over a few times. I get stuck, or get little traction at all.

Is it me, or are there better winter tires out there.

Old 03-10-2008, 07:15 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I have Dunlop Graspic D2. Always get pretty good traction.When there is 6 or more inches out I usually add a little weight to the trunk....helps with traction

Old 03-11-2008, 09:23 AM
Originally Posted by SmoothieG35
This is my first year with my coupe, I have a set of Hankook Icebear w300 17" tires that are a few years old. Despite the heavy dumpings of snow in Ontario, I haven't had the best traction with these tires. I'm talking about having trouble in the snow with 10cm or less, or somewhat heavy slush on the side streets, or hard packed snow with snow on top that's been driven over a few times. I get stuck, or get little traction at all.

Is it me, or are there better winter tires out there.
how much mileage do you have on those tires? i used my pirelli 210's for 3 seasons on the coupe and found that the tractions got very loose near the end. both my summer and winter tires went fairly quickly on the car due to tire feathering.... but the pirelli's i had did a fantastic job when the tread depth was still good and even.

Old 03-11-2008, 01:04 PM