Canada Serving Canada.

downtown condo owners, or potential owners - tips on searching for one?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-14-2009, 08:44 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
downtown condo owners, or potential owners - tips on searching for one?

For the guys here that recently purchased condos, real estate agents, those currently seeking, or somehow are knowledgable on the topic of purchasing - how did you search for your condo? I am really new to the game - I should have had my own place for a few years now, but I keep loafting. Because of my job and school, I need to move to downtown toronto - so I would like a place within the financial district, or within 10 mins of walking of ryerson university.

I am looking for something that is already built, but less than 5 years old, $300 or less in condo fees, and over 500 sq ft. I started using mls.ca and contacted one real estate agent so far through that site. Any other good leads on finding a place? Any other things to watch out for?

Thanks!

Old 08-14-2009, 08:51 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wow, im in the same boat!

Please post helpful tips guys! Thanks!

Old 08-14-2009, 10:29 AM
boi
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hey Phil,

1st Thing you should know about condo's downtown, You won't find any condo fee's under $300

Anything over 500/sq feet your looking at an average of $350-500
Depending on the Square footage, i have a condo Downtown Sq.1
1 + 1 w/ 2bathrooms, i pay roughly $325 in maintenance, plus 2 parking

Not a good investment buying a condo downtown, IMO, Price wars!
Location is key, and will determine value
Investment Point of view,price appreciation. Generally, condominiums appreciate less quickly than single family homes. For example, if you look in a neighborhood in which there are only condominiums, your condo should appreciate at the neighborhood rate. Some neighborhoods that are made up mostly of condos have shown some of the strongest price appreciation over the past five years.