Care & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

Thoughts on the Porter Cable 7424.......I'm scared!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-26-2009, 07:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thoughts on the Porter Cable 7424.......I'm scared!

Okay, okay, okay..... I know most of you here in this forum know about using and orbital buffer for making your car look great. I've read and read posts saying that the porter cable is easy to use and all, but I have to admit......I'm still hesitant to take the plundge I don't know really why. I've heard it's pretty idiot proof and I've seen alot of youTube videos with people using them, but i've never used anything like it before and I had some questions that may put my mind at ease if anyone is willing to answer them for me.

Here goes:

1) I don't have a way to wash my car in the shade. I live in florida and my black G coupe is a daily driver and not garage kept. It seems that every time I see someone using the PC, they have those extra lights as well. Do you have to have those extra lights and does using the porter cable in the sun damaging????? (I know.....this was two questions)

2) I've read where some people say use some pressure while using the PC, and others say use absolutely no pressure. What's the right answer and why?

3) Is the PC the best choice or is it the flex or cyclo????? Answer this as if money was not a factor. Which one is the most idiot proof and which one is only for vets?

4) If I got an orbital, how often should I use it. Once a week, month, every few months, etc.?

5) Not really dealing with the orbital, but what are the best products (soap, sealant, glaze, wax, etc.) for a daily driver black coupe to keep it looking good on the streets?

All your help is greatly appreciated!

Old 02-26-2009, 07:51 PM
1) Polishes dry out fast in sunlight. Plus the paint get s too hot. Those quick set-up tents can be handy.