Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G35? Find out the answer in here! (View All Posts)

04 G35 Sedan: Engine knocking/clicking problems...help?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-05-2009, 11:10 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 04 G35 Sedan: Engine knocking/clicking problems...help?

my bro bought a sedan with 77k on it in early 07' and he handed it down to me about 8 months ago and its now at 95k

its been clicking from the engine for about a year but no one could seem to help, not even the dealer

they said its something with the moisture in the pistons and when i researched i found it could also be somethin with the oil pressure? I've been putting Lucas fuel injection cleaner for about 6 months but its not helpingg =[

its pretty loud, it makes a clicking sound from about 5 ft away but if you listen closely it makes a knocking sound towards the left side of the engine at the bottom. It clicks constantly and it clicks quicker when the RPM increases. It still runs smoothly and doesnt cause any problems but i want to fix it! so i can get to the mods for my car

help please, thanks

Old 05-06-2009, 07:42 AM
Received 24 Likes on 17 Posts
Stop using regular and start using PREMIUM!!!!

Old 05-06-2009, 08:45 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
most likely a bad fuel damper.

Old 05-06-2009, 08:54 PM
lol yeah i do use reg

are you sure that, thats the problem?

Old 05-06-2009, 10:08 PM
Received 96 Likes on 70 Posts
We need more details. The ticking... is it a ticking or pinging sound? The knocking, is it a quiet knock or a louder clunk sound or even a banging one? This sound often occurs as a result from running the engine without oil or with poor lubrication/low oil pressure. Not sure this is it since words are tough to decipher: but, once this sound is heard there is more to consider, like worn bearings/failed rod bearing, even a broken engine mount will make this sound.