Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G35? Find out the answer in here! (View All Posts)

VQ35DE Revup rebuild. help me.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-16-2015, 03:15 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
VQ35DE Revup rebuild. help me.

Ok so here's the deal the last time I posted was about a rattling noise the car was making after I replaced the clutch. It soon after turned into a knock for god knows what reason. It took me a while to find a decent motor that didn't cost an arm and a led. Finally found one person I put it took about 3-4 months swapping it. -_- so I've been driving it for about 3 months now. I've been keeping a close eye on it because it came out of a wrecked g35 t(collision in the front). So a week ago I started hearing a slapping from the engine bay sounds like its coming from the driver side. 2 weeks before it over heated driving home from work(thermostat). So now instead of having to find another motor if or when it happens again. I wanna rebuild it before it does. I already have my list of parts together and ima start with valves, springs, retainers, cams, etc. Then I will move on to pistons, rings, connecting rods gaskets etc. Only motors I've ever taken apart were 4 cylinders(240sx) I've never done anything bigger. My question is does anyone know of any guides, videos or threads of how to go about this. I'm not a pro mechanic but not clueless either. Any pointer, tips or ideas? Thanks in advance guys. And if there's already a thread about this that I didn't catch I apologize.

Old 11-16-2015, 03:31 PM
Received 29 Likes on 23 Posts
im not sure what you are shooting for here.
but if you have to pay someone else to swap a motor for you, i would not attempt to rebuild it.
esp if they took 3-4 months to do a 2-3 day job, thats just sad...

a lot of parts you listed for your rebuild dont need replaced, unless they are broken.