Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G35? Find out the answer in here! (View All Posts)

Help with new G

Old 07-08-2019, 09:15 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
BONE STOCK (for now) brembo brakes
Help with new G

I recently purchased a used 2004 G35 6MT coupe (129kmiles). So i have a few concerns the car for the most part is amazing happy to finally own one considering ive wanted this car since middle school! So first on the list of concerns is

1.my trans tunnel gets warms i can feel hot air while driving coming from that area
2.the guy i bought it from put a really cheap clutch from ebay and while accelerating i hear a rattling at low rpm (i believe its clutch chatter mixed along with noise from the throwout barring

other then that the car is really clean just mainly cosmetic things thanks for any help im happy to be apart of the g community now!

Ps im a starting mechanic im comming from building/lifting jeeps so this is a new platform for me

Old 07-08-2019, 09:25 PM
BANNED!!!

Received 2,456 Likes on 2,150 Posts
Coupe 6MT Premium RAS
Does it feel like hot air "blowing" or just got air "radiating" from that area.

I suspect that during the clutch job they removed the factory heat shields above the cats as well as possible removing the heat shields from the cats themselves. Get the vehicle up on jackstands and inspect.

The following users liked this post:
Rj_frauenthal (07-08-2019)
Old 07-08-2019, 09:29 PM
He also installed a new y pipe and cats and from what i saw there was no heat shields around them or near them and as far as how it feals when im driving it feels like its kinda blowing but mostly radiating its kind of hard to explain haha

Old 07-08-2019, 09:37 PM
BANNED!!!

Coupe 6MT Premium RAS