The G-Spot General discussion about the G Series;
G35 & G37, Coupes & Sedans

Money shifted FML!

Old 07-20-2019, 09:47 PM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Money shifted FML!

I’m new to driving manual and today I was going from 3rd to 4th but I accidentally put it in second and it made a high revving noise.I was going 35mph in 3rd going to 4th what damaged could I have caused? Once I realized my mistake I slapped it back to neutral and proceeded in 1st gear

Last edited by Ichiglo_; 07-20-2019 at 09:59 PM.
Old 07-20-2019, 10:43 PM
BANNED!!!

Received 2,456 Likes on 2,150 Posts
Coupe 6MT Premium RAS
You're probably fine, even if it bounced the rev limiter, second gear goes to... almost 60mph so.

If it didn't bounce off the rev limit then you're DEFINITELY fine.

Old 07-20-2019, 11:34 PM
Originally Posted by cleric670@gmail
You're probably fine, even if it bounced the rev limiter, second gear goes to... almost 60mph so.

If it didn't bounce off the rev limit then you're DEFINITELY fine.
Can you please explain rev limiter? Basically I was going 35mph in 3rd and I started accelerating to st least 3000rpm and shifted into second by mistake.The car made a high rev noise and the car buckled forward a bit and then I quickly slapped it into neutral and proceeded from a stop in 1st

Old 07-21-2019, 12:36 AM
I can confirm I was going at 3500rpm I have a bad habit of shifting early so I was going 35mph st 3500rpm when when I dumped it into second

edit:could’ve this count as a improper down shift?? I didn’t realized 3rd tops out at a high speed

Last edited by Ichiglo_; 07-21-2019 at 12:43 AM.
Old 07-21-2019, 01:47 AM
Edit:Sorry for being paranoid but I drove the car right now and it felt solid.I only went through 1-3rd gears only didn’t even attempt to do 4th but it felt normal.Makes me feel less worried when my coworker along with my family members all know the feeling of mis shifting but they still have their cars running

Old 07-21-2019, 11:35 AM