G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

what happened?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-02-2004, 08:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
what happened?

Sup everyone!
Just got lucky recently to lease my very own G35 sedan 6MT. However, this was my first stick car, even though I have had opportunities to drive other manuals. The basic message, I am still learning the car.
The other day, after practicing on hills for quite a bit and stressing the clutch along with a much more experienced driver, we decided to take the car on the road. He was driving fine and shifting freely for 5 minutes, when all of sudden the car stopped shifting. This was right after he had stopped at the toll to pay. We immediately pulled over to the shoulder and inspected. While the car was on, nothing could be done to get the gearbox to shift from neutral position. It was as if, a magnet was preventing any shift. However, when the car was shut off and the clutch was engaged, the box shifted. No such luck when the car was turned on again...
We decided to wait a bit, hoping that this was some sort of electric shut off to a overheated clutch?
5-10 minutes later, we put the car back on the road and the car started shifting again.
What happened, if anyone can clue me in? Also, feel free to ask questions if that will help clear the story more.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks, and glad to join you all.

Old 01-02-2004, 08:56 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Re: what happened?