G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

Severe electrical water damage/corrosion *HELP*

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-16-2019, 07:13 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Older in need of repair
Severe electrical water damage/corrosion *HELP*

Short version of the story, helped gf buy a vehicle and it turns out the transmission control module was faulty, upon further inspection there is another wiring harness (passenger side) which is corroded to the point where the contacts are broken off..

My idea was to clean the connectors cut strip and reconnect the wires after fixing the leak.

What are my options now for this electrical wiring harness connector that has the contacts corroded completely off?

I'll post pictures momentarily, any help is very much appreciated as I'm not very experienced with electrical problems.

Thank you.

Old 04-16-2019, 07:16 PM
BANNED!!!

Received 2,456 Likes on 2,150 Posts
Coupe 6MT Premium RAS
Buy a new harness, solder/shrink tube connections. Hopefully there's a local car you can salvage it from in a pick-n-pull. If not you might try the marketplace here for vehicles being parted out.

The following users liked this post:
Grokster (04-16-2019)
Old 04-16-2019, 07:20 PM
Older in need of repair
Old 04-16-2019, 07:32 PM
Older in need of repair
Originally Posted by cleric670@gmail
Buy a new harness, solder/shrink tube connections. Hopefully there's a local car you can salvage it from in a pick-n-pull. If not you might try the marketplace here for vehicles being parted out.
Are you suggesting just to cut these connectors out and solder each connection then shrink tube all of the cuts? Leave the original wiring harness inside?

Old 04-16-2019, 07:42 PM
BANNED!!!

Coupe 6MT Premium RAS