G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

Rough idle/dies after acceleration and smoke under the hood

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-18-2020, 07:52 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
G35 sedan
Rough idle/dies after acceleration and smoke under the hood

Hi all I just purchased a 2005 infiniti g35 sedan. I'm new to the whole vq world. So for starters when I got the car it had a cel for misfire in cylinder 1 and 4 also vvt solenoid and camshaft position sensor both driver and passenger side all of those codes are gone I fixed them. Now the entire time the car had and still has a rough idle and hard time to start up. I did clean the maf and throttle body with no change. Also I have replaced the spark plugs and coils even the injectors all oem and still no change I noticed smoke coming from the motor around the valve cover and behind the plenum but it doesn't overheat I'm stumped because I don't know what else I can do or if the motor is just trash and the weird thing is it immediately begins to smoke at the cold start. Could anyone chime in?

Old 12-20-2020, 02:36 PM
BANNED!!!

Received 2,473 Likes on 2,164 Posts
Coupe 6MT Premium RAS
Clean the MAF, do the idle air recalibration. That's a good place to start.

Just to verify you have NO CODES right now yes? And you scanned to check for single trip/hidden codes yeah?

Old 12-20-2020, 03:07 PM
G35 sedan
Originally Posted by cleric670
Clean the MAF, do the idle air recalibration. That's a good place to start.

Just to verify you have NO CODES right now yes? And you scanned to check for single trip/hidden codes yeah?
Yeah all the codes are taken care of. Also I cleaned the maf countless times already same with idle recalibration it doesn't do anything.

Old 12-20-2020, 03:15 PM
BANNED!!!

Coupe 6MT Premium RAS
Next step pull and inspect plugs, compression test, smoke test intake plenum for leaks. OBD2 real-time scan STFT both banks, O2 sensor for proper cycling.