G35 Sedan V36 2007- 08 Discussion about the 2nd Generation G35 Sedan 2007 - 08

Surging Idle and Possible Electrical Issue

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-20-2018, 10:58 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Surging Idle and Possible Electrical Issue

I've been checking out these forums since 2010 when I purchased my G35 Sport Sedan, and here I am at my whits trying to find out what's the problem on my car.

My issue? The dreaded idle surge. It starts either right away, or a minute after warm up. It stays consistent between 1.5 and 2k RPM.

A little background:

This past summer, I had an issue with a sticking caliper. I was fortunate to have a friend with a plethora of tools, and I was able to do the work myself in his driveway.
What I found out during the week it sat outside as I waited for parts? That I had a leak coming from a clogged sunroof drain, or the corner windshield area. My passenger floor was SOAKED. I had a few centimeters of water on the floor, and immediately dried everything with towels. It had rained 2-3 days in a row, so I can only imagine how bad it was. I never ripped up the carpet to fully dry everything out.

Fast forward some time, and the idle starts to run high, which eventually turned into the surging. I pull a code which I'm blanking on exactly, but basically tells me I'm idling high, and replace TB's. I clean my MAF sensors, no luck. I finally order remanufactured TB's and no luck. My mechanic even bogged down the idle to get it in range to relearn to no avail.