General Tech Questions This Forum is Only for Questions and Posts that Do Not fit under the other Tech categories.(No Classified Posts)

Lighting issues after replacing a bulb!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-26-2011, 11:47 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lighting issues after replacing a bulb!

Hey guys,
I'm new to the G35 community and hoping I can find some help figuring out this issue. I recently got an oil change done on my 2006 coupe. I had noticed earlier that day that one of my fog lights (also daytime running light) was not coming on, so I had them replace that at the same time rather than doing it myself.

Now the fog lights come on whenever the headlights are on, and go off when the headlights are off. I can't control them with the fog light switch anymore, and they also do not come on as daytime running lights anymore. It's almost like they rewired the car so that they are directly connected to the headlights!! I checked back with the garage, and they say that all they did was replace the blub.. Does anybody know how this could have happened by replacing a bulb?? I know the daytime lights worked before and at night I could control them with the fog light switch. Doesn't make any sense to me, so if anybody has any suggestions or has heard of this before, please let me know!

Thanks,

Old 11-27-2011, 01:39 AM
Received 98 Likes on 84 Posts
There are two main bulbs on our headlights. The "low beam" is a 35W "DR2" Xenon HID bulb and is located in the upper portion of the headlamp. The bulb in the lower portion of the housing is a two-filament halogen "HB2" bulb that does double duty as our "high beam" and fog lamp. The stock bulb is 60/55W. (There is a 3rd standard double-filament incandescent bulb for turn indicator and parking light. That one is 21/5W.) These are all 12V bulbs.