Intake & Exhaust Questions and info regarding various aftermatket exhaust systems for the G35 (Headers,Y-Pipes, and Cat-Back Systems)

building an exhaust.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-20-2014, 12:44 PM
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
building an exhaust.

Well, I've been running an HKS knockoff cat back for the last year and expectedly it was not that great. Sounded okay but not what I was looking for. I recently made the move to long-tube headers and while it sounds pretty nice now, the replica exhaust resonators and mufflers are very blown out and it's quite loud. I'm going to scavenge some piping from the old system but it's time to overhaul it. I picked up a pair of Vibrant resonators, and am going to replace the old h-pipe with an xpipe to try and equalize it a bit better. I'm not an expert on exhaust so hopefully some guys can chime in. I'm more confused about where I need to place the xpipe and resonators to maximize their effectiveness. All piping Is 2.5" also.

Thanks in advance

Last edited by livinglegend; 03-20-2014 at 12:49 PM.
Old 03-21-2014, 08:43 PM
Thanks for the move. I had originally intended to put it here to begin with.

Anybody know their way around custom exhaust systems that can answer this for me?

Old 03-21-2014, 09:37 PM
Received 45 Likes on 41 Posts
I just had my custom exhsust done today. I got a megan oe rs muffler had 2.5 in exhaust made with no resonater. It sounds great no drone and alot better pedal response. It gained some ponies too! Try it without resonater it will be less restrictions and have better sound.

Old 03-21-2014, 10:10 PM
Received 78 Likes on 70 Posts
Sub'd

Old 03-24-2014, 10:38 PM