New Members Check In If you're new to G35Driver, please take a moment to sign-in, introduce yourself and show us your G35!!

Hello Everyone

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-18-2023, 10:38 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Athens Blue 2007 G35 Coupe, Bose system w/o Navi, Convenience Pkg
Hello Everyone

Hey members, I’ve been a lurker for a long time now on these forums using them for tips, tricks and information for my girlfriend’s 07 G35 RWD coupe. I’ve been a mechanic for over 12 years and consider myself specialized in Nissans, having owned multiple Maximas with the 3.0 and modded them quite significantly but this is my first foray into the G platform. So far, I’ve replaced the valve body and TCM with a brand new Nissan unit (with programming), Nissan Matic-S ATF and radiator after the transmission cooler failed and a backyard mechanic incorrectly diagnosed it as a throttle body issue due to the vehicle being stuck in limp mode (I pulled the valve body and immediately saw glycol contamination after this clown supposedly pulled the valve body twice), new window and sunroof motors, new MAF, new front hub bearings, new Nissan DS fuel level sensor to get CEL off for emissions (even though gas gauge still doesn’t work correctly) and now it will spin tires down the block with VDC disabled. With 126xxx miles on the car it’s time for a suspension refresh since it is literally all stock aside from the parts I mentioned and a Kenwood touch screen radio. My question to the OGs on this forum is this: What is the best cost effective suspension setup to retain stock ride quality nowadays? The stock shocks and compression arm bushings are shot and it feels like this car is hitting a sinkhole over a literal piece of gravel. I’m skeptical on using quickstruts (even as a technician I always recommend a solid shock with new mounts, boots and retaining stock springs) because the quality control nowadays just isn’t a reality. I used to have good success with the KYB Exel-G shock