Wheels & Tires Grabbing the road and stopping.

OEM Chrome rims causing air pressure loss?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-24-2013, 02:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
OEM Chrome rims causing air pressure loss?

Newbie here..
My tires are losing air. Long story short, I replaced my tires on my 2005 G35 Coupe about 9 months ago. I purchased Michelin Pilot Super Sport 225/40ZR19 for the front and 245/40ZR19 for the rear at American Tire to match my previous set. The wheels are OEM Chrome. About 3 months ago I noticed the left front had a slow leak. Took the car back to American Tire, they indicate they leak is due to the chrome rims. Apparently the chrome wears off at the bead and over time causes the leak. In other words, it’s not the tire or the install that’s causing the problems, it’s the OEM Wheels.
Now, I’m starting to notice slow air pressure loss in all four tires! I’ve owned this car for 4 years and never had this problem with the previous tires. I’ve tried to search this site for similar issues but could not find any.
So, the question is, is there an historical issue with the chrome OEM rims? Is my tire monkey taking me for a ride? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Rick

Below is a picture of the rims.

Old 09-24-2013, 03:45 PM
Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts
something sounds awry.....Rims are bent or you have a bad install. of course keep in mind, Im sure you, like me (and im lying of course) have NEVER hit a curb and parallel park my car perfect EVERY time so it couldn't possibly be you bent the rims

The following users liked this post:
sailorick (09-24-2013)
Old 09-24-2013, 04:23 PM
Received 1,133 Likes on 1,003 Posts