Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, or satellite radio

SAT: XM vs. Sirius

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-28-2005, 02:31 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
SAT: XM vs. Sirius

Hey, Im a newbie when it comes to Satellite Radio. I have an '04 G35 and it has the "SAT" button, so im sure it is already pre-wired. Anyway, as a dealer option it says its $400 to get satellite radio. What does this include?

Also, XM vs. Sirius: I think they are both the same price (12.95 a month) What are the pros and cons of each for helping me decide which to get? All I know is that Sirius has Stern and XM has O&A.

Old 02-28-2005, 02:48 PM
All the $400 includes is the satellite receiver box (which mounts in the trunk under the liner) and an antenna. As a factor option, it's generally cheaper than having the dealer do it. The dealer and factor installation includes a roof-mounted antenna and running the antenna wire under the rear glass weatherstripping, down into the trunk and to the box. This CAN be done by the owner but it looks to be a serious pain in the rear - you have to actually cut a specific-sized notch in the metal lip of the trunk, fit a cable run through it, seal it with butyl gum and clear tape, etc. Ugh.

Others are installing micro antennas on the rear parcel shelf under the glass or even on the metal deck underneath the parcel shelf. I haven't decided what I'm going to do yet, although I'm going with XM and here's why:

1. I'm not a Howard Stern fan-boy;
2. XM has almost three times the subscriber base;
3. If you look at how much Sirius is bringing in through subscriptions versus how much they're shelling out for sports tie-ins and big names (Stern, etc.), something seriously doesn't add up; Sirius is going to have to increase it's subscriber base ten-fold and soon to avoid getting into serious trouble with creditors;